This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
MIA Honorary Life Members
Share |

MIA Honorary Life Members

Brian Sims

In 1994, Brian convinced several influential UK motorsport industry figures of the need for a representative trade association, resulting in the launch of the MIA. After nearly four years at the helm, Brian stood down, taking up an offer to become Commercial Director of the Benetton F1 Team. As one of international motorsport's most successful exponents of sponsorship acquisition, Brian has written several books on the subject and in 2018 was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by Birmingham                                                   City University for his contribution to the motorsport industry.

Brian's autobiography "You Don't Have to be a Champion to be a Winner!" was published in August 2019.

Robert Baldock

Robert is an experienced management consultant (and a, slightly frustrated, amateur racing driver). He has spent most of his career as a senior partner with Accenture, the world's leading firm of management consultants and was the main influencer behind their decision to sponsor the Williams F1 team. This has resulted in one of the longest sponsorship deals in motorsport, lasting for more than 15 years!  He was instrumental in forming the MIA in 1994, and was subsequently elected Chairman. 

The Rt Hon the Lord Astor of Hever PC DL

Lord Astor served in Government as Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Ministry of Defence) until May 2015, and was Honorary President of the MIA from 1996 until 2010. His tireless support for the motorsport industry, raising matters of value and encouraging intelligent, well-informed debate has helped steer a positive course for this UK industry. Lord Astor resumed his position as Honorary President in 2015 and has held it ever since.

John Kirkpatrick

Managing Director, JK Motorsport Consultancy; Jim Russell Management. Life President of Association of Racing Driver Schools (ARDS). In January 2019, John was awarded Honorary Life Membership of the MIA for 25 years' loyal service to the motorsport industry.